Skip to content

SCPS 2023 Teacher of the Year Finalists!

Seminole County Public Schools (SCPS) is pleased to announce its 2023 Teacher of the Year Finalists & Grade-Level Winners:

Julie Gabrovic, K-5th Grade Science Lab Teacher, Wekiva Elementary School

Mrs. Gabrovic has been teaching and leading at Wekiva Elementary for the past 21 years. She has established herself to be well invested in the school and the community. Mrs. Gabrovic takes ownership of her responsibilities and her level of commitment to enhancing the school culture, enhancing classroom instruction, and connecting with student and their families. She creates and maintains an atmosphere
that is conducive for educational environment by supporting all of those around her each day.

Bailey Holmquist, 6-8th Instructional Coach, Millennium Middle School

Mrs. Holmquist has been a member of the faculty at Millennium Middle School for six years, in that time, she has established herself as a leader in nearly every area on campus. Bailey demonstrates an elite knowledge of her content, builds incredible relationships with her colleagues and students, mentors and guides new teachers to support their success in the classroom, and always the first to volunteer for any task on campus. She works every day to serve as a model for her colleagues.

Cherie Brinkman, 9-10th Grade Biology Teacher, Oviedo High School

Cherie Brinkman is an amazing, caring, and transformative Science educator who can reach students from any and all backgrounds. However, her teaching impact isn’t confined to just her classroom; she is always eager and willing to share her effective teaching methods, innovative lessons, and data analysis secrets with all of her peers.

The 2023 SCPS TOY Celebration is presented by the Foundation for Seminole County Public Schools and sponsored by Addition Financial. It will take place on Friday, February 4, 2022 at the Westin Lake Mary/Orlando North (2974 International Pkwy., Lake Mary, FL 32746). During this event, the overall SCPS Teacher of the Year (TOY) will be named and will go on to represent the district at the state

Scroll To Top